Fwd: SHARED GOV BALLOT (Deadline Tues May 9)

Last day for voting on governance: please do so now and thanks to those who have already voted.


———- Forwarded message ———-
From: Erick Howenstine
Date: Wed, May 3, 2017 at 3:28 PM
Subject: SHARED GOV BALLOT (Deadline Tues May 9)
To: EH

Dear members of the Faculty Assembly:

Please find at the bottom of this email the link to the ballot for the Spring 2017 elections. We had 47 self-nominators, nominating themselves for 70 seats on faculty governance — an excellent turn-out thank you! The winners of these elections will represent faculty interests on committees and councils. I’d like to also encourage everyone to be involved in shared governance by contacting their representatives when the need arrives.

To that end, please bookmark the Shared Governance Website:

On that web page you will see membership, activities, functions, and the organizational structure of shared governance. Any of these bodies can establish and maintain their own section of this site by contacting facgov@neiu.edu . Also please look forward to a Faculty Senate D2L “course” called Faculty Voices, which will be available for sharing information, discussions, surveys, etc – we will take advantage of the course tools to strengthen governance on an on-going basis. I’d like also to recognize the administration’s support and encouragement of shared governance, as it has done in many ways in recent years.

Finally, thanks to Henry Owen and Shannon Saszik who put together the ballot and made this election possible Spring term. Henry serves on the UPBC, the Advisory Committee to the Library, the Faculty Council on Finance and Administration, and the Faculty Senate. Shannon is member and Secretary of the Faculty Senate and serves on the Faculty Council on Academic Affairs and the Graduate College Advisory Committee.

Here is the link to the ballot, which is already open and will close midnight Tuesday May 9. Votes will be tallied and a second ballot, for the At-Large seats, will go out May 10.


Erick Howenstine
Chair, Faculty Senate